Aging like a fine wine…

In the last couple of years, I’ve noticed that I’m losing a bit of touch with the younger generation after me.  I think I’ve been in denial about this though, I haven’t wanted to admit that I’m getting older.  My nephew (5 years old) can navigate a cellphone better than I can, so I should just give up.

Me seeing my young soul move into OLD territory:

Things I just don’t “get”:

  • How to use Twitter
  • Why do you and your friends have to have 58 comments on a status update.  You can text each other.
  • Justin Bieber (this includes: music, style, terms like “swaggy”)
  • The AMOUNTS of makeup young girls put on at Sephora while they are “Mall-Rat-ing”–if your dad could see you…
  • Having headphones on when you’re with your friends
  • I haven’t stopped saying Facebook Wall as oppose to Timeline
  • I have to Google how to change my Facebook settings
  • I can’t use a Samsung Galaxy 3S at all.  This is my mom’s new phone and she was appalled I couldn’t figure out how to use it!
  • The CW or ABC Family…anything
  • Cyberbullying
  • Flo-Rida songs
  • I get really confused using Microsoft Office 2010
  • Kids today don’t know about TGIF

I’m not saying “I’m too grown therefore I’m better at life!!!”  I’m just saying when I see “youths” out and about or see online “buzz”, I realize how detached I am from that world.  Yes, I’m pushing 30.  I shall own that, I shall reference Full House on the daily and be ok about it.

Leave a Reply

